Design Stage and Post Construction Stage Assessments Online

    The Code for Sustainable Homes (the Code) is an environmental assessment method for rating and certifying the performance of new homes.
 It is a national standard for use in the design and construction of new homes with a view to encouraging continuous improvement in sustainable  home building.

    It was launched in December 2006 with the publication of Code for Sustainable Homes: A step-change in sustainable home building practice  (Communities and Local Government, 2006) and became operational in April 2007. Where Building Regulations apply, compliance is necessary at  all times.

 The Code for Sustainable Homes covers nine categories of sustainable design:

  • Energy and CO2 Emissions
  • Water
  • Materials
  • Surface Water Run-off
  • Waste
  • Pollution
  • Health and Well-being
  • Management
  • Ecology

   Each issue is a source of environmental impact which can be assessed against a performance target and awarded one or more credits.  Performance targets are more demanding than the minimum standard needed to satisfy Building Regulations or other legislation. They represent  good or best practice, are technically feasible, and can be delivered by the building industry.

   In addition to meeting mandatory standards, achievement of the requirements in each design category scores a number of percentage points.  This establishes the Code level or rating for the dwelling. The Code certificate illustrates the rating achieved with a row of stars. A blue star is  awarded for each level achieved. Where an assessment has taken place and no rating is achieved, the certificate states that zero stars have been  awarded.


Terms, Conditions and Privacy policy | Copyright BRE Global 2008